Perched Water Tables

Any questions or comments you have about Natural Sequence Farming processes. These could include general questions or ones about your personal problems.

PLEASE NOTE :
We do not endorse any answers from anyone in this forum except Peter Andrews himself.

Please remember, Natural Sequence Farming has to be tailored for your specific problem and to follow general advice may create more problems for you.

Moderator: webmaster

ctpatt

Perched Water Tables

Post by ctpatt » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:40 pm

I apologize if this question has been answered already, but I have yet to find it. I am new to NSF, but it seems to focus a lot of on the hydrology of the landscape much more so than other land management disciplines. Frequently, it recommends creating "wetlands" to soak water through other parts of the property. However, I am curious what NSF would recommend if the whole property is itself a wetland to the extent that it impedes crop production. Surely, the answer for traditional agriculture is subsurface tile drainage, but this is expensive and I am wondering if there is another way. Most of the land in question is silty/sandy clay loam topsoil underlaid by heavy clays or clay loams several meters deep. The soils are slowly permeable with water tables 15 to 45cm from the surface and the land is really flat (1-3% slopes; emphasis on 1%). The soil is very slowly permeable and poorly drained. The climate can put forth anywhere from 120cm to 200+ cm of rainfall annually, so ponding is an issue in a high rainfall year. Clearly organic matter is important in this situation to open up the soil a little bit and allow water to enter, but I'm having trouble going much beyond that. Water tends to collect on the surface so some kind of surface drainage is needed, however there is still the problem of getting it into the landscape. Has anyone dealt with a similar situation or have enough knowledge of NSF principles to solve this problem?

Shirley Henderson